NEWS: Supply chain communication Berrico related to Covid-19 > Lire plus
NEWS: Crop news September 2018 – Seeds & Dates > Lire plus
NEWS: Berrico at Biojournaal.nl > Lire plus
NEWS: Our Canadion partner Fruit ‘d Or in list “Best Managed Companies 2018” > Lire plus

Myrtille

La myrtille, que les anglo-saxons appellent « bilberry », appartient comme la cranberry et la blueberry à la famille des Éricacées. Les baies bleu-noir se développent en juin (parfois une seconde fois en août-septembre) sur les branches du myrtillier après la floraison de petites fleurs fragiles. Ce petit arbuste trapu apprécie les sols humides et peu calcaires tels que ceux des forêts ouvertes, de la bruyère et des tourbières.

 On attribue à la myrtille des effets bénéfiques sur la santé. La baie servirait à traiter des troubles oculaires comme la mauvaise vision nocturne. Elle est prescrite aux personnes souffrant du diabète de type 2 qui courent le risque de troubles de la rétine. Les baies faciliteraient également la digestion et la circulation sanguine.

Si la myrtille (Vaccinium myrtillus), le bleuet à corymbes (Vaccinium corymbosum) et le bleuet nain (Vaccinium angustifolium) se ressemblent, le goût, la chair et le développement de la myrtille sont différents. La chair de la myrtille fraîche est rouge et moins sucrée. Les gourmets la préfèrent au bleuet. Les myrtilles poussent de façon solitaire (pas en grappes) sur les branches du myrtillier.

Berrico livre les trois variétés de baies séchées, édulcorées au sucre ou au concentré de jus de pomme. La saveur douce et sucrée des baies se marie bien aux fruits rouges.

Fait amusant : au XVIe siècle, on fabriquait en Europe un sirop composé de myrtilles fraîches et de miel pour traiter la diarrhée.

Myrtille
Translate »

NEWS: Crop news September 2018 – Seeds & Dates > Read more
NEWS: Berrico at Biojournaal.nl > Read more
NEWS: Our Canadian partner Fruit ‘d Or in list “Best Managed Companies 2018” > Read more

Bilberry

The bilberry belongs to the heather family, along with the cranberry and the blueberry. The bluish black berries grow in June (and sometimes a second crop in August/September) on the stalks of this small plant, after its delicate pink flowers have finished blooming. The dwarf shrub is most at home in moist, acidic, non-calcareous soil, for example in open woodland and on heath and peatland.

Many health benefits have been ascribed to the bilberry, for example it is said to be good for the eyes and to prevent night blindness. It is also prescribed to people who suffer from type 2 diabetes and are vulnerable to cornea problems. The berries are also said to be good for the digestion and blood circulation.

Bilberries (Vaccinium myrtillus), bluecrop blueberries (Vaccinium corymbosum), wild blueberries (Vaccinium angustifolium) — at first sight they all look alike. However the bilberry has a different colour pulp, flavour and growth habit. The fresh bilberry has red pulp, is less sweet and according to connoisseurs, more flavourful than the bluecrop blueberry. What’s more, bilberries grow individually (rather than in bunches) on the shrub.

Berrico supplies all three of these berry varieties dried, sweetened with either sugar or apple juice concentrate. The rich flavour of these berries makes them a delicious match for fresh-sweet red fruits.

Fun fact: in the 16th century Europeans made a syrup of fresh bilberries with honey. This was used to treat diarrhea.

Bilberry
Translate »